Circuit Negma

C++, C, VB.NET, PCB, Electronics, Circuit Design

Surface Mount Packages :: 3-pins Devices

Posted by Circuit Negma on January 15, 2010


Created By: Hussein Nosair

I am trying to convert a PCB from through hole components to surface mount. However, since I have limited resources to aid me in soldering surface mount device. I need to find the largest possible surface mount package for a 3-pins devices.

Since I do not have a copy of the EIA standards, I decided to use alternative method in gathering information pertaining to 3-pins surface mount devices. Using Digikey, I went through the 3-pins devices’ datasheet and collected the 3 parameters for each available package. such parameters are Length, width and height.

Here are the result of my little research.

From the above graphs, the largest package is SC-73 (aka. SOT-223)

Leave a Reply

 
